You are here

The Making of Poyln: A Gilgul (Poland: A Metamorphosis)

Joel Rubin with Veretski Pass

In this presentation - part concert, part lecture, and part discussion -  Veretski Pass and Joel Rubin lay bare the surprising sources for their music. With field and archival recordings and historic manuscripts, Veretski Pass and Joel Rubin demonstrate how they transformed both Jewish and Polish melodies into cohesive and colorful suites, peppered with lively and spiritual arrangements as well as their own compositions.  This project is the meeting of Jewish and Polish music - a missing link of the klezmer revival.

Veretski Pass is Cookie Segelstein, violin;  Joshua Horowitz, accordion, cimbalom, and piano;  Stuart Brotman, bass, basy (cello), tilinca, and baraban.  Joel Rubin plays the clarinet.

Time and Place
November 15, 2019, 7:30 pm
Textor 101 on Ithaca College Campus